Khajuraho Temples

The Khajuraho Temples have been classified into three groups :-
(a) The Eastern Group of Khajuraho Temples:
(b) The Western Group of Khajuraho Temples:
(c) The Southern Group of Khajuraho Temples:



The Eastern Group of Khajuraho Temples includes the Parshvanath temple, Adinath temple, Ghantai temple, Hanuman temple and the Brahma temple. The Parshvanath temple is the largest of the Jain temples. It is famous for its beautiful sculptures depicting celestial beauties in several postures. The Adinath temple is dedicated to the Jain Tirthankara Adinath. It is lavishly embellished with sculpted figures, including that of 'yakshis'. The Ghantai temple is also a Jain temple. It is famous for its ornamental depiction of the sixteen dreams of the mother of Mahavir Swami and a Jain goddess on a winged 'Garuda

The Brahma temple, the Vamana temple, the Hanuman temple and the Javari temple are the Hindu temples in the Eastern Group of Khajuraho Temples. The Brahma temple is known for its four-faced image of Lord Brahma while the Vamana temple is adorned on its outer walls with carvings of 'apsaras' or celestial maidens. There is a Hanuman temple that is renowned for the colossal statue of Hanuman, about 2.f metre high, while the Javari temple has a richly carved gateway that will take your breathe away.

 Book Now



Detail Itinerary :- The Western Group of Khajuraho Temples includes the Kandariya Mahadev temple, Chaunsath Yogini temple, Chitragupta temple, Lakshamana temple, Matangeswara temple and Varaha temple.

The Kandariya Mahadev temple, dedicated to Lord Shiva, is the largest among all Khajuraho temples. The Kandariya Mahadev temple at Khajuraho is 31 metre high. The earliest surviving shrine in the Western Group of Khajuraho temples is the Chaunsath Yogini temple. The Lakshaman temple is renowned for the trinity of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva, along with goddess Lakshmi and also for the remarkable three-headed idol of Vishnu's incarnations.

The Chitragupta temple is dedicated to the Sun God and is famed for the three-headed idol or Lord Brahma. The Matangeswara temple is dedicated to Lord Shiva, while the Vishwanath temple is known for its impressive pathway, flanked by sculptures of lions and elephants. A nine-foot high boar-incarnation of Lord Vishnu is the unique feature of the Varaha temple. Together, these temples reflect the grandeur of the architecture of the times and the skill of the artisans.



The Southern Group of Khajuraho Temples consists of only two temples- the Duladev temple and the Chaturbhuj temple. The Duladev temple, located south of the Jain enclosure, was constructed well after the other temples. It shows the influence of waning creativity of the artists due to declining royal patronage. The waning creativity can be observed in declining ornamentation, lesser carvings and conventional carvings compared to earlier Khajuraho temples. It is dedicated to Lord Shiva and its fa�ade has repetitions of the images of a standing Shiva and Shiva- Parvati. The Chaturbhuj temple is dedicated to Lord Vishnu. It has massive 2.7 metre high, intricately carved image of Lord Vishnu in Chaturbhuj- four-armed form. The Chaturbhuj Khajuraho temple looks similar to the Duladeo temple except for its size, which is smaller. Generally speaking, the Southern Group of Khajuraho Temples is not as impressive as the earlier shrines.

 Book Now
Enquire Now
  •     Days
  • Your Contact Information

  • Enter the letters displayed

India Tour Packages